Why does BAC water expire in 28 days?

Reaction score
Like is there a certain bacteria that if introduced on first puncture needs 29 days to become harmful?

I’ve been trying to wrap my brain around why that specific number.

I wish I could find the FDA document calvarez linked on the old reddit sub, but it basically said that any substance that doesn't have a specific "use within x time after opening" notice on the label is assumed to be good for 28 days max, so it's pretty much a standard timeframe for all things lol.

Found it: https://www.fda.gov/media/117883/download

I wish I could find the FDA document calvarez linked on the old reddit sub, but it basically said that any substance that doesn't have a specific "use within x time after opening" notice on the label is assumed to be good for 28 days max, so it's pretty much a standard timeframe for all things lol.
Oh that’s interesting! Thank you

I’m not a doctor, not medical advice. I push mine to 2 months and no issues 🤷‍♂️. Some folks go until it’s finished

Found it: https://www.fda.gov/media/117883/download
@ZippityDooDah Good find Zip! I've been seeking the reason for the 28 day expiry for months now.

Interesting Note: Three days ago I was contacted by an anonymous individual who wanted a copy of my US Vendor spreadsheet; he was looking for a good, high-quality US peptide source so he could begin personal use. A long and engaging chat ensued.
I discovered he is a microbiologist managing a team of chemists at an (unnamed) three-letter health agency in Washington :oops: and a great guy!

Story short, we got around to discussing this "28-day bacteriostatic water expiry" controversy, and he didn't know how it originated either. Or where to find the source of the recommendation!