Syringe comparison: BD, Easy Touch, Sure Comfort, True Plus

zling

New_Member
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I am very new to injection medications so I am not willing to blame the leftover liquid in the syringes on the syringe. I will call it a skill issue for at least 2-3 more months. I also haven't actually used the Easy Touch yet but I will next week! TruePlus was given to me, Sure Comfort and Easy Touch came in kits, and I bought the box of BD Veo.

Syringes I have:

TruePlus [1ml, 31g, 8mm]: First 2 needles I used. I had to use much more force to get these needles in than the others. I didn't like the feeling of waiting for it to pierce my skin and when it finally did it pinches. This is what drove me to try other brands of syringes.
The needle looks just a fraction of a hairline thicker than the others. There was liquid left in the syringe when I was done, enough that I felt a little bad about wasting it.

Sure Comfort [1ml, 31g, 8mm]: Again, have only used 2 of these. These were a lot smoother than the True Plus, still felt that bit of tension but really not a big deal. Biggest problem I had with these was the leftover liquid. Seemed like there may have been even more than the TruePlus. I think it has to do with their (TP and SC) rubber stopper design.

Easy Touch [1ml, 31g, 8mm]: I haven't used these ones yet. The needle looks thinner and sharper than the SC and TP. One big advantage for the EasyTouch is that it shows the .5 unit marks while the others did not. Will try to remember to update this when I use these next week.

BD Veo [1ml, 31g, 6mm]: This needle is shorter than the 8mm the other 3 had. It's the same gauge but it looked thinner to me. The shorter needle takes a lot of the anxiety away for me. Needle went in nice and smoothly, barely even felt it. I liked that the rubber stopper was thinner than the others, made it easier for me to see. Still had some left over fluid. Does everyone get this or do I just need more practice?